Archinect
anchor

Thread Central

AP

is this thing on? *tap tap*

Hope everyone is enjoying the end of the year and all associated events.

Huge congrats beta, RA. i have a widget that lets me know when someone on TC gets licensed...and i had to come by to congratulate you (it must've been nearly 2 years ago that you posted the pic of yourself at prometric)...
also, congrats on the new job.

LIG, i think you've made the right eyeglass decision. although i concur with those that like the stylishness of pair #1, they lack the clean, classic proportions of pair #2 and would've seemed less of a natural fit for you. and plus, who cares about hipster cred when you have TC cred?!

so...i've been working on grad school apps for the past 2 months and just sent the first batch of portfolios off yesterday (thanks again for the typeface input, rationalist). still have to print a few more portfolios, finalize my statement of purpose and otherwise wrap things up...but it felt pretty great to walk around the city yesterday afternoon...finally feeling a bit of freedom after being locked in my studio apartment for the past 2 months, leaving only once every few days to gather essentials. n_, you're applying as well, right?

amid the portfolio printing frenzy the gf and i did take some time to enjoy the 25th (our first Christmas together, and her first away from her family). we made some turkey, smashed potatoes, gravy, etc. and enjoyed it with a bottle of wine that one of her clients gifted to her. planning on making some soup with the leftover turkey...

regarding glove gremlins, they are alive and well in nyc. i've had a nice pair of leather/cashmere lined gloves for a long time, and mom finally replaced them with an identical pair last winter. less than one month after i put the old pair away, one of my new gloves disappeared, so now i wear one new leather glove and one matching, yet severely worn, leather glove.