Archinect
anchor

Confessions of an Architect

samsonoio

I'm great at faking confidence
Everyone uses me as the "one who as all her shit figured out" when I have no idea what I'm doing or why
I love architecture, but know I need more talent then I have
I think because my friends are such amazingly gifted designers, I can be one by association
I wish I was an artist, but will never have the self-confidence, drive, or creativity to be one
I like doing math equations for fun
I can't spell but am not ashamed, and don't try to improve my ability
Most of the time when I talk, I'm just pretending that I know or understand more than I do, or am trying to impress someone
I don't think I've ever had an original idea
I fluxuate between wondering if i actually care about changing the world, to convincing myself I must care because it's important to do so . . . but still wishing I didn't have to

I'm addicted to watching What Not to Wear and weight-loss shows like the Discovery Health Challenge

Nov 6, 05 2:20 am  · 
 · 
Manther

Its terrible but true.
I love it when others fail at things that I excel at. Usually I will act sypathetic to their lack of succes, but really I am just rubbing in that I got the job done and they didn't. I typically compare how they failed to where I succeeded in order to really drive home the point that they failed.
Oh the prick I am.

Nov 6, 05 2:43 am  · 
 · 
ryanj

i find myself more interested and better able to define urban planning issues after two courses, than after 4 1/2 years defining/studying architecture

Nov 6, 05 11:38 am  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

I just reread much of this thread. Wow. I am mostly shocked at my own confessions, interesting.

Nov 6, 05 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

I don't like architecture school anymore but keep going because I've already wasted too much money.

I have a really high GPA and get good reviews/crits, but I don't think I will be an architect when I graduate.