Archinect
anchor

I love architecture but I hate being an architect - is it worth sticking with the profession?

heffany227

Hello all,

I have found myself in a bit of a conundrum lately. I am an emerging professional in the field of architecture, but for the past couple of years, I’ve really been questioning this career path I have chosen for myself. I love architecture, I love buildings, I love cities. I have wanted to be an architect since I was 10. However, I really, really hate the work I do every day as a professional architect. I’m not licensed yet, and I’m thinking about giving up on my dream to get licensed and switch into a different career.

I’m having a hard time figuring out if all architecture jobs are this grueling, or if it’s my specific role. I hate how much engineering is involved, and I will spend all day looking at trash chutes or detailing window sills, and I just don’t care about any of that. I’m just wondering, are there any creative-type architects out there who actually enjoy their jobs and think it’s worth it? I know that entry level positions are no dream job, but even when I look at the work anyone senior that me does it looks even worse. I’m really considering making a career move into UX/UI design, but I don’t want to leave architecture of there is a light at the end of the tunnel. 

Does anyone have any positive experiences as an architect? Or anyone who has a positive experience of leaving architecture for another profession? Anyone get licensed before leaving the profession and sees any pros/cons with that? 

Thanks!

Apr 28, 21 2:40 pm
randomised

Don't care for trash chutes either but love me a good window sill though...

Maybe go into concept development or something if you just want to churn out ideas and have others worry about how it's done. 

Or open your own shop and hire the ones that do those jobs for you.

Apr 28, 21 2:51 pm  · 
1  · 
architecture?