Archinect
anchor

MBA - Is corporate the way?

Hugoistique12

I graduated two years ago, and have been working at a International Corporate Architectural practice since. My desire to go into real estate has been growing ever since university, and Im quite sure this is the path I want to move in after I get my architectural license. My question is the following If i want to get into a prominent MBA program such as Columbia, do they appreciate architectural experience at big international corporate firms or would they rather you be in a small firm doing more hands on experience. The practice im working in at the moment in NY seems to be the perfect choice, as they do projects all over the world with several offices in europe, middle east and asia. But again im working mainly on competitions and 3d modelling, not much management, which I beleive a smaller firm would allow for. What are your thoughts on the best way to choose a firm that an admissions comitee from a Top MBA program would appreciate? Also any tips in how i can better prepare myself in the next few years to get into a top mba program?

May 8, 10 2:32 pm
swisscardlite

i am only an architecture student but I also have similar interests in getting a MBA or MSRED one day.

Strong leadership is probably the key thing most business schools look for so even if what you do is not directly related to what you will learn in b school, a lot of these qualities that you could be initiating in the firm can transfer over.

Having said that though, aptitude in analytical skills and exposure to finance and management would be helpful so you could try and expose yourself more into the business development or the management side of practice. And at a corporate firm with global exposure, I am sure you could learn a lot from understanding how massive global projects are handled- everything from contracts to client correspondence to negotiating with the countless numbers of contractors and client groups.