Archinect
anchor

Contract Worker Liability

StarchitectAlpha

Hi,

I'm currently working as a contract drafter in California. I have 2 years professional experience. My boss is an architect and contractor. He seemed really knowledgable until we started to deal with code. When we are working on design, he'll have me read "all related sections" which as you know is no light reading and then whatever my interpretations of the code are, are the design guidelines. In past internships, this happened but my bosses would fill me in on where I was wrong. Now we are getting corrections back and he's trying to fudge a lot of them and repeatedly saying the inspector won't notice. I really get worried when it comes to ADA. He had me read the code for 20 minutes to find out if our building was ADA compliant, I said,"to best of my knowledge after reading the code for 20 minutes, I guess," which didn't make him happy. Same thing with BMP's. There's things he does that I know are blatantly wrong and I have to argue with him, which is scary because I only have 2 years experience, I wonder about all the other stuff I don't know about. My real fear is that the owner gets sued for being non-compliant for ADA and since I'm a contract worker I somehow get blamed and sued. He made me create a drafting company and give him invoices for my hours worked to make his taxes simpler. But now he could easily say it's my "company's" fault, right? There isn't much work in my city so I need this job, but I don't want to held accountable for my bosses questionable projects. What do people here think?

Mar 3, 14 12:58 am
StarchitectAlpha

I just realized how bad I made this job sound. It's a GREAT job. I learn so much about construction and get to work on so many things that you don't get to do in a big corporate firm. It's just not worth it if I can potentially get caught up in a lawsuit. I do not want to add legal representation debt to student debt.

Mar 3, 14 1:02 am  · 
 · 
gruen