Archinect
anchor

how do get the clients to pay?

Rem007

Sorry but I guess I'm a novice at this.  

It seems there's a lot of communication involved when dealing with clients and I often feel I am giving out a lot of information and advice for free which also takes up a lot of my time.

First of all, is it legitimate to ask for money when I have not produced any drawings yet but have given out quite a bit of communication?

Second, how do you ask for money when there is no tangible product yet.  Am I not, after all, giving out "intellectual property"?

In my frustration, I have somehow inartfully asked for payment and have not seen anything yet.  I almost feel the client relationship is a little fragile now.

Aug 6, 13 12:35 pm
zonker

Clients need results as in produced drawings with all client mandated revisions - clients have the upper hand - they will just go to someone else - bottom line is to exceed their expectations then they will be more willing to pay.

Aug 6, 13 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

http://vimeo.com/22053820

Aug 6, 13 1:05 pm  · 
 · 
poop876

I'm dealing with a client now who does not understand why he has to pay for schematic/preliminary drawings. His take on it is that we should do it for free in hope to get free work. So I asked him (he is a car dealership owner) if I can test drive his car for few years in hope I buy it!  I put it in his perspective for him to understand that I spent quite a few hours on the project. 

I'm meeting with him tomorrow for him to drop off the check as I'm holding and not responding to the correction letter. I'm really curious what he is bringing, because if not the full amount...I will be paying my deductible for my attorney next week. 

Aug 6, 13 1:57 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

they aren't paying you for drawings or IP.  they're paying for a service.  you have an expertise in building design and codes and other useful knowledge they can benefit from.