Archinect
anchor

2007 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

23, B.Arch, 2 years full time in an architecture office, am basically 'head intern' and co-CAD manager, with several years part-time experience in architecture and construction before that. Applied to MFA Graphic Design/Visual Communications/Communication Design programs. My portfolio had about 20% architecture, 20% packaging/soft industrial, 60% graphic design.

Mar 13, 07 6:36 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

I'll join in...

..... 27 with a B.Des. in industrial design. Only applied to one (Canadian) school this year, my first time applying.

I've done a little design consultation (some industrial design, some not) but I make my living as a body piercer, of all things. In THAT field, I've been successful - magazines, TV, all that. I even included some tasteful photography of some piercings as part of my portfolio, which did not contain any architecture. I figure, that's why I'm applying to school - to LEARN how to design buildings.

I'll be finding out this week about school, so that doesn't leave a whole lot of time to really sit and wait, thankfully. Developed an ulcer already.

Oh.... and here in Canuckistan, the general consensus is that M.Arch programs only accept those students with a B.Arch. That is, except for two schools in the entire country. What a load.

Mar 13, 07 6:38 pm  · 
 · 
nambypambics

25 y/o fashion photographer (formerly graphic designer) with BFA in interdisciplinary design (dillettante) and internships at a few architecture-related firms, placed in an architecture essay competition, a few architecture electives in school, an exhibit design I did freelance, and *ahem* some kind of editorial status on a popular architecture website.

Mar 13, 07 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
Chairman-Mao

Remember that post? Top party schools in the U.S.

I got in the Top one. #1 AZ State. Oh man...

Mar 13, 07 6:54 pm  · 
 · 
Chairman-Mao

M.Arch 3+ program...

Mar 13, 07 6:55 pm  · 
 · 
NoSleep