Archinect
anchor

Help with a daily ritual

I need your help archinecters. I will be starting grad school in a couple of months and I am trying to get some things in order before I start. Where I will be attending, there are no structured classes or designated studio time. I will be left up to my own devices to get my work done. Unfortunately I am not very good at managing my time; actually I'm horrible. In the past, having a daily routine has helped me be productive. Thus, in order to keep myself sane, I'm trying to come up with a daily ritual. This ritual will more than likely happen in the morning when I first come into studio. I'm thinking of spending an hour on this task and doing absolutely nothing else. It has to be something that I can do every day therefore it needs to be economical. It does not necessarily need to have a goal or end product but if it inherently does, that is ok. I would also like this ritual to have meditative qualities to it. In other words, I would like this to be something that is repeated day in and day out where the main product is mental relaxation and gathering my thoughts for the day.

I have a few things in mind. They are knitting, writing, throwing clay on a wheel, origami and drawing. Throwing clay is probably the most appealing but may not be the most economical because I will be required to have clay for each day and that might get pricey. I will also have to fire whatever it is that I create from the wheel and that is going beyond what I want to do for this activity. Knitting is also appealing because I could buy yarn in bulk, some needles and that's it. (everyone contributing to this thread might even get a Christmas scarf).

So with that said, I would like to ask you guys for your help. If you have any new suggestions or comments please feel free to post here or write me an email. Thanks!

Jul 5, 05 12:07 pm
stephanie