Archinect
anchor

Masters or not before it’s too late?

boispotus

I graduated with RIBA Part 1 a few years ago. I have been working in Canada since but not on the path to licensure. I’ve been a full time designer and now I’m leading comp design/viz and sometimes doing designer role stuff at a natural playground company near Toronto. I’m making 72,000 CAD a year and my job is relatively good work/life compared to when I was a designer at a well known design firm in Toronto, plus I’m living at home still so I’m saving a lot more. I probably have some salary room to grow as well, but that’s not really the point of considering a Masters for me anyways…

My dilemma is that I am almost 28 (I went to arch school late) and I have a good amount of experience, but without doing my Master’s, I’m not on the path to licensure. However, I have some niche skills which is why in part I’ve got hired fine without. That being said, I want to do architecture on my own soon, and I am also getting old, and so getting that Masters now at least could open the door if I choose to get licensed in the future. I could always return to a job like where I’m at now, but what I really would rather due is be an entrepreneur, so I look at a Masters as a way to culminate my last few years of experience before I do that, versus part of the accreditation process. In this profession I don’t think people take you seriously without it unfortunately…

I have been lucky to have a lot of architect mentors in my life, and some don’t believe in licensure really. What do you think? I would rather do the Masters now when I’m younger and don’t have kids or a family to take care of versus regret later in life.