Archinect
anchor

COVID-19 Lay-off Thread

Bench's comment has been hidden
Bench

I actually put jla-x on the mute/ignore feature about 2 weeks ago, and I can genuinely say that reading the forum is much more pleasant now. Sure I still see some responses to whatever the hell is going on, but in general - No more wormholes of pseudo-science and desperate twisting of facts to fit a world view removed from reality. Highly recommended.

May 12, 20 10:11 pm  · 
4  · 
liberty bell

I’ve been doing the same for six months or so now and yes, it’s quite nice.

May 12, 20 10:23 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

It was 13c in my house yesterday and it's snowed on and off since friday. I need the warmth and comfort of a good dumpster fire.

May 12, 20 10:25 pm  · 
2  · 

Yeah I ignored the giant douche known as jla-x / x-jla.

May 13, 20 11:11 am  · 
2  · 
x-jla's comment has been hidden
klouis

hey folks! Newbie here, just found this thread. Want to say it breaks my heart to read the stories of those who have been already been laid off. Seriously, I wish the best and send positive vibes, wherever you are. 

My story is Arch designer, small 12 person firm, mostly academic and hospitality. 

Most clients are still (currently) committed to the projects that were scheduled to start this summer, but waiting on gov't instruction on safety guidelines for construction sites to release. Lots of clients saying no more money (dont even ask!) for addtl services, scope or pricey mtls, so projects dried up real quick. CMs adding collosal sums to their fees to cover covid related delays etc.

Boss man notified us a few weeks ago that if govt funds didnt come in we would all have to eat a 40% cut until that happened. Luckily we got funded and are ok for now... My concern is if we have no active design projects and nothing new coming in, at the end of 2 months we are still fucked. Seems like we've only delayed the inevitable.