Archinect
anchor

Design opportunities at large firms.

Dwhite1017

What is it like to work at large firms like Gensler or SOM? How much design does a typical architect at one of these firms get to do? I’m currently an architecture student and I am really interested in the projects that large corporate firms get to do but I’m worried I’ll rarely get to design if I work at one of these firms. I fully anticipate my first 3-4 years out of college to be very mundane work with basically no design opportunities. I worry though that even later in my career at a large firm I would be doing very little design. Any feedback would be great!

Dec 28, 17 3:57 pm
BulgarBlogger

A lot of people mistake “design” for the big brush strokes- the big sweeping gestures often seen in sketches by starchitects like Renzo Piano, Zaha, etc. At large firms, these are done by the principals, lead designers, or design directors charged with overseeing the project and reviewing final shop drawings. 

What is meant by “design” in job postings by large corporate offices is a bit more nuanced. It can still have a broad scope, but often, it isn’t as glamorous as you might think. I would wager that the most glamorous design work you may end up doing is a charette for a competition that the firm ends up winning.

Beyond that, it really depends on the stage of the project...

In the pre-design/site selection phase you might be doing presentations to clients that define the exterior envelope according to zoning and code regulations. In other words translating the zoning feasibility study into something a little more “specific.”

In the schematic design phase, you may be doing an analysis of where to locate the core and the egress components, where to locatr parking- in other words translating the program into something more specific.