Archinect
anchor

Changing careers? Depressed with architecture.

patrache

Hi everyone, I'd love to have your thoughts on this. Or maybe I just sort want to know I am not the only one in this situation. 

My background: I went to school in Business and Architecture, so I got a bachelor's degree in Business admin, another one in architecture and I also did my M.Arch. I spent 5 yrs studying architecture, been working in architecture for almost 3 yrs. And to be honest I am totally depressed. I have worked for 3 different companies that go from small studios with 15 employees to companies with 400 people in just one office. I worked in Canada and USA and I speak English, French and Spanish. I can say in general I am pretty well educated human being. Now, to be honest from the first day of work with the very first company, I was feeling depressed, but I guess the excitement of having a job with pretty well known company made me forget how shitty I was feeling so I just continued the "fake it 'til you make it". Long story short, after almost 3 years I feel unsatisfied with architecture, I think it is sad how people are willing to work for long hours a week having such a low salary ( compared to other professions).  It is impossible not to compare myself with other friends who went to school in something else and work half of the time I work and make at least 30% more compared to any salary in architecture. And don't get me wrong I have done my job/research and I have a pretty good salary compared to other people in the same field with my experience. Prior to working in architecture I was working for a telecommunications company and I was working no more than 40hrs/week and having a OK salary that allowed me to have a happy healthy life. So after 8 years of architecture (school and work) I am tired/depressed. I feel like I have wasted my life in something I love but doesn't not give me the satisfaction I need. I think If I were to spend the same amount of hours I spend we