Archinect
anchor

Managing your coworkers/associates?

beatbox

So, I have recently been promoted to a Project Manager type role in the office and now I'm finding myself managing my underlings as well as the projects. Since I'm relatively new to the task of managing people...are there any resources/advice/books on tape for learning how to manage people reasonably and effectively?

Currently, there is a gap of experience in the office: lots of people in the 1-3 year range, 4 people in the 5-8 year range (where I am), none in the 8-12 year range, and 6 in the senior/principal level.

I would like to avoid making many of the pitfalls that I've experienced under previous managers......

May 3, 06 2:57 pm
beatbox

I agree, good mgmt experiences have been few and far between for me.

It's been a combination of chinese fire drill/water torture......

May 3, 06 3:40 pm  · 
 · 
psycho-mullet

Peter F. Drucker
The Essential Drucker

I've found it helpful.

May 3, 06 4:25 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical
beatbox

: Here are a few resources you may want to explore:

The First Time Manager

Preparing for Project Management: A Guide for the New Architectural or Engineering Project Manager in Private Practice

Getting There by Design, An architect's guide to project and design management

Time Management for Architects and Designers

HBR on Managing People

Just Promoted!: How to Survive and Thrive in Your First 12 Months as a Manager

Becoming a Successful Manager : How to Make a Smooth Transition from Managing Yourself to Managing Others

13 fatal errors managers make and how you can avoid them

However, the most important thing to remember is "don't panic and don't despair" -- you didn't learn to be an architect overnight -- it will take a while for you to grow accustomed to these new skills and how (and when) to use them.

Good luck ... you'll get there !

May 3, 06 4:33 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

Drucker's good too ....

May 3, 06 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
beatbox

Thanks a bunch quizzical!