Archinect
anchor

Please tell me my past experience will count toward this IDP training shit thing......

lobotomy79

I have been working for licensed architects since 2003. Same office since 2007. I am now finally looking into getting my architect's license.

Can someone please clarify what this six months rule is? does this rule mean that all my past experience means nothing in the eyes of NCARB? Does it mean I have to re- accumulate all the hours required by NCARB?

I will literally shit in my pants if they want me to spend another 3 years reporting training units!

Jan 26, 12 11:44 pm
EDMartin85

Six month rule means that you can only report time in six month intervals, and no more than 8 months in the past.  That means the way the system is set up if you reported today, you couldn't report hours before May 27th of last year.  Keep in mind the six month rule only applies to hours you haven't submitted--so if that time is already NCARB approved, you're good.

If you haven't reported any hours, I suggest calling NCARB and calmly (i emphasize calmly) explain your situation and see if they can help.  However, I would be prepared for them to say "sorry" a lot and make sure you're sitting on a toilet so you don't s**t yourself.

Jan 27, 12 12:25 am  · 
 · 
lobotomy79

thanks EDM!

Jan 27, 12 12:39 am  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Sorry to say, but you will probably end up sh**ting yourself. This happened to someone I know, and had 8 years of unreported experience.

Jan 27, 12 1:49 am  · 
 · 
marmkid

yeah i am pretty sure, unless you have some extraordinary circumstances, they will tell you that you are out of luck and you can only submit the previous 6 months of hours.  Their rational will be that there was an ample grace period for those in your type of situation to submit a bulk amount of hours before the new rule kicked in.