Archinect
anchor

14 and not sure

Carlospc116

Hey guys! For a while now, I've been wondering what I wanted to do when I grow up, and I have decided I want to be an architect. Is all the work worth it? I'm pretty good at drawing, but should I start practicing drawing and sketching? I'm 14. How is the outlook for architecture? What are the average work hours and salary? Is it rewarding? What books should I start reading to learn more? Thanks guys!

Jan 9, 12 9:45 pm
Carlospc116

Anyone?

Jan 9, 12 10:05 pm  · 
 · 
OneLostArchitect

Read this kid: 

http://money.cnn.com/2012/01/04/news/economy/unemployment_college_major/index.htm

That article was posted a few days ago.

Jan 9, 12 10:46 pm  · 
 · 

Hi,

I'm in my final year of a five year Bachelor of Architecture degree program.  I can't respond to issues of work hours and salary but I can say that as of recent news Architecture graduates have some of the highest unemployment rates.  I'm no expert, but as I understand it, the architectural profession is dependent on a strong economy where many clients have the resources to invest in building and design.  In simple terms, the outlook for architecture is tied to the economy, and fluctuates accordingly.

Many people say the work is not worth it, I think the best way to look at it is to see if you love doing it.  Architecture school is a lot of work--if you love it you will commit a LOT to it and find it rewarding.   In my opinion you should sketch and draw if you enjoy doing it!  If you develop the ability to transfer what you see in real life, and in your imagination to paper, you will have a great skill coming into architecture school that will serve you well.  Drawings will also be a good part of the portfolio you may be asked to submit when applying to architecture schools.