Archinect
anchor

What do I charge as a FreeLance Fee?

cmdace18

I'm in my 3rd year of graduate school - Will have my M.Arch in April.

I've had 4 summers of experience in an architectural firm.

Couple wants me to draft up Plans, Sections, Elevations of their home, approx 5,000 sq ft. Any Idea on what I charge them? The couple wants to pay a flat fee for each stage - i.e. plans, then sections, then elevations.

I'm pretty quick on CAD.... I was thinking it would take me 20 hours on plans, 15 hours on sections and 10 hours on elevations - maybe $15 an hour?

300 plan
225 section
150 elevation

Whatcha think?

Thanks.

Sep 20, 05 2:17 pm

1. you'll need to work all of the drawings together, so plans, sections, elevations are not 'stages'.

2. have you been responsible for the putting together (not just drafting) of a construction set before? it's very seldom a start-at-the-beginning-keep-going-til-you're-done process. there will be lots of back and forth, revision, and coordination. don't underestimate your time in the front end.

3. i don't know where you are but....well, $15 an hour is cheap no matter where you are.

Sep 20, 05 2:29 pm  · 
 · 
momentum

if i'm not mistaken, uncle sam will want taxes on what you are doing at the end of the year. budget that into things. maybe 30 an hour?

seriously though, 5000 sf home for 600 dollars? absolutely ridiculously low number. if these people can afford a 5000 sf home, they can afford to pay you way more.

Sep 20, 05 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
impalajunkie

$45/$50 an hour

Sep 20, 05 2:53 pm  · 
 · 
funga

it this just a rough plan on cad, kind of a programing / design,
or that is the price for a construction set,?? traditional or custom??
what about revision detail, engineer , going back and forth to the city, i dont think you can make the dwg in that amount of time including design, , doesnt matter how fast are you in CAD