Archinect
anchor

Architectural fees methodology : Multi-family residential

MA1990

Hi all,

Sorry in advance for the long post :)  

I am a recently licensed architect in Vancouver and I am getting my certificate of practice to start providing architectural services as a sole proprietor. 

In all offices I worked for in the last 10 year, they treated architectural fees as a top secret matter and no one of the architects working on the projects really know what the amounts are, except the partners.

Recently, I have been reading heavily the Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) bulletins and guides for Tariff of Fees for Architectural Services. It mainly based on a percentage of the project probable construction cost of the project. 

My issue is that I am approached by a developer wanting a six storeys multi-family residential building in a lot that needs to be rezoned and then have a development permit prior to the building permit. My response that I will work hourly until we reach an agreed upon general concept that works with the rezoning requirements, the off street parking we can accommodate in said site, along with the unit mix that works for them financially as well as other city requirements, then we will move to a fixed fee based on a percentage of the construction cost.

The client then asked what is my hourly rate, I said $135 an hour as this will be covering my over head expenses ( software , license, insurance, hydro, ..), salary and a profit margin (13%). The client was not happy and said as I am a newly licensed architect this is too high. However, I asked other architect friends who got their license recently and they said that it is similar to what they charge.