Archinect
anchor

i can't afford to be an architect... i am going into real estate sales!

anza

hello

this is my first significant post here, so i'll give some background.

i am 31 and i have just completed the dreaded IDP units and i am finally free and clear to start taking the licensing exams. but, most significantly, i am in a real financial bind... more so than ever before, more so than in grad school because then, at least, i was receiving these nice governmental loans that must now be paid off...

i've been working in new york city for the past four years in various small offices gaining a wide range of experience in high-end residential and some commercial projects. however, my highest earnings to date have been 44K from the firm and $45/hr for miscellanous freelance jobs on the side. alas, i have hardly been able to make ends meet when compounding the high cost of living in new york city and paying off of student loans (60K, total).

i found the intern years to be terribly uninspiring in comparison to the academic studies of architecture and decided early on that i'll work for others only as long as i have to... now, i am at a point were i am nearly capable to start my own practice, at least from a legal point of view. financially, though i find it impossible.

as a result, a month ago, i quit my job, took a real estate sales course and tomorrow i am starting training for a real estate sales position in a very large real estate company in new york city. in six weeks, i'll be assigned a sales position in one of their offices.

needless to say, all of this has not happened without much anxiety. to leave (even temporarily) architecture after having invested so much energy has not been easy, after all the years in school and then working etc, total of 12 years dedicated to the study of architecture, more than a third of my lifetime so far!