Archinect
anchor

public / industrial spaces turned domestic

michellefr

i am looking for buildings that were once, either public -- libraries, stores, etc., or industrial -- warehouses, that have been transformed into something domestic, like a hotel or bed and breakfast. anyone know of any?

yes, i am a student, and yes, i am asking for help. if you don't have anything nice/positive to respond with, please don't waste my time.

thanks.

Jul 26, 05 5:36 pm

The Circus of Domitain turned into the Piazza Navona. Legend has it that were St. Agnes was jailed in a brothel within the Circus of Domitia (which was rebuilt by Alexander Severus and renamed Circus Agonalia) is now St. Agnes in Agone on the Piazza Navona.

Jul 26, 05 5:54 pm  · 
 · 
el jeffe

hehe - now there's the making of a standard disclaimer...

albuquerque high school is in the midst of being converted into housing.

Jul 26, 05 5:55 pm  · 
 · 
AP

two residential areas by MVRDV and West 8 in Amsterdam:

http://www.arcspace.com/architects/mvrdv/silodam_article.html

http://www.archnewsnow.com/features/Feature90.htm

both adapt to previously industrial areas...

Jul 26, 05 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
MysteryMan

Schools. Since the population of elementary through middle school aged children has declined considerably over the years, the City of Atlanta has been putting several schools up for sale. I know of at least 2 high schools (Bass & Roosevelt) that were converted to loft apts in the 1990s.

I'm sure they've been quite profitable for the developers. I think it'll be interesting to see wwhat happens once all of the young, urban couples that have moved back into the city (dare I call 'em Yuppies) start having kids. Everyone's gonna wonder what happened to all the schools...but, maybe those 2 income households aren't 'traditional.'

Jul 26, 05 8:04 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]