Archinect
anchor

career change

navyasw02

Im considering a career in architecture, but I have a few questions before I dig too deep into it. I have a BS in Naval Architecture and I've been a naval officer for the past 3 years with nuclear engineering and management experience. I'm also working on a masters degree in engineering management. What can I use of what I already have towards a degree in architecture and the architectural field? Is Naval Architecture and Architecture close enough to make the transition?

Jul 21, 05 10:06 pm
proto

not for design
however you could be light years ahead as a project manager

Jul 21, 05 11:26 pm  · 
 · 
Tectonic

What would you like to do with an architecture career?

Jul 21, 05 11:41 pm  · 
 · 
brian buchalski

talk to per corell over on the "hi, all you fancy graphics lovers" thread. he has designed some boats and is now working with architecture.

also, check out the freedom ship which seems to be an interesting convergence of building architecture, urbanism, and naval architecture

Jul 21, 05 11:57 pm  · 
 · 
MysteryMan

NavyASW02,
Hoo-Rah (FFG-47, USS Nicholas). I take it from the ASW, you must've been surface: Destroyer, or FFG? Aviator? Helos or S-3 Viking, perhaps?

Anyway, you've got great experience, mainly gonna help you out, as PROTO said, in project mgt/bldg systems. However, if you want to go the design route (less dinheiro, for sure), Naval Arch will have a lot to offer your study of 'regular' Architecture. Already, you probably understand a hella lot more abt. assemblies, spatial relationships & systems relationships than most of your potential classmates. If you're wanting to translate your experience into a more artistic (design) career path, that might be a change of pace for ya, It just depends on if you've got the aptitude for that & if you embrace it. But I say go for it. You'll find a lot of use for your experience.
Good Luck to you.

Jul 22, 05 12:21 am  · 
 · 
sini