Archinect
anchor

Architect = Boring job?

hello

Why do architects constantly complain about their jobs?

Apr 29, 05 9:29 am

As I see it, architecture is like any other profession - it is what you make of it. Unfortunately with job markets/society, a lot of people end up taking very bland (myself included) jobs, forcing them to make the effort to do something interesting/fun/exploratory on their own; this is where the ball is dropped, because its tough when working a 40+ hour work week to get home and sit down to more architecture. I'm a big fan of the "nothing happens if you don't show up" approach to life, but it doesn't work for everyone - I'm young (24) and have little to no commitment, so I can take chances and make sacrifices that someone with a significant other and family can't take. Plus there is the whole contrast between what we're taught and what we actually do, etc. etc.

But I'm just a young intern, and would love to here some people that have been doing this for more than a year give some feedback.

Apr 29, 05 9:55 am  · 
 · 
French

I'm not a practicing architect, and the reason is not because it's boring. The reason, has you may understand from other's opinion, is the frustration/ work vs satisfaction/reward ratio. You spend enormous amount of time working for a deeply intersting discipline, but nobody else cares. That's why I became a renderer, that and the fact that I hate construction sites.

Apr 29, 05 10:39 am  · 
 · 
stephanie

I LOVE MY JOB.
but i'm with the whore...young.

i don't think complaining = boring