Archinect
anchor

In-situ concrete insulation

Lack

I’m an archi student (2nd year) and I would really like to do in-situ concrete for my design, however I’m struggling to find ways to insulate this, I have looked at Patrick Gartmann’s house in char and love the way it turned out, however walls end up pretty thick to meet u-value regs, I’ve also looked at Ando’s designs but have struggled to find any construction details. Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Mar 30, 24 11:57 am
Non Sequitur

is this not why you’re in school? Plenty of material out there, do the leg work yourself.  Also, concrete is a poor insulator and will not meet most energy/insulation codes without at least 100mn of continuous foam. Find a clever way to get the look you want. 

Mar 30, 24 6:35 pm  · 
 · 
Lack

Thanks for the really great help! But someone else has given me a lot better advice and info to help me learn and improve with my designs :))

Mar 31, 24 5:32 am  · 

Lack - you're asking us to do your homework for you. You're lucky we're speaking to you at all.  

Apr 1, 24 1:07 pm  · 
4  · 
ae_0

fun fact; pretty sure the proprietary Ando detail is to cast the insulation within the section of the wall, which could be an insane thing to do, so don't try at home (or school).

Mar 31, 24 11:09 pm  · 
 · 
Lack

yes! i came across this 'sandwich’ idea which i think is the best option, but it’ll be super helpful to see a detail of it, i’ll go have a look. thank you !

Apr 1, 24 2:29 am  · 
 · 
gwharton