Archinect
anchor

A Question for NY-Licensed Architect

OldPerson

Hello,

To preface, NY state requires 12 "units" before you are eligible for licensure. 9 units you get from NAAB accredited B. Arch or M. Arch degree, and next 3 units, you get from each year of experience. So it usually works out to a degree + 3 years of experience + ARE for licensure (from what I read on NYSED website).

My question is: a Master's degree related to architecture (after B.Arch) can count as 1 unit. I have a "Master of Science, Advanced Architectural Design" from Columbia. I am wondering if that will count as 1 unit, therefore allowing me to apply for licensure now rather than next year. I, of course, have emailed NYSED multiple times to ask whether my Master's may count as 1 unit, but of course they have not answered.

I am wondering if anyone here have first/second-hand experience on this, where their extra Master's on architecture (other than M.Arch) counted as 1 unit.

Thanks

Mar 20, 23 9:35 pm
sanahmengi

Hi, 

I am a B.Arch from India and a Master's of Architecture and Urban Design from Columbia. There is a thing called 'foreign architect path' that's something I have gone ahead with. You can do this path separately with NCARB or NY state. If you want to get licensed in NY and NY only, then it's always worth it getting a license with NYSED. However, if you are open to getting your license elsewhere, that would mean NCARB is a better and faster option. 

Mar 20, 23 10:25 pm  · 
1  · 
Mzsd07

Did you get your education evaluated with ESSA to see if it’s qualified?

Apr 4, 23 12:31 am  · 
 · 
Mzsd07