Archinect
anchor

Intern Architect NCARB to OAA

ArchKid

Can someone explain this to me, from the OAA website:

I am an Intern Architect in the United States. How do I transfer to the OAA?

National Council of Architectural Registration Board (NCARB) record holders transferring from the United States may obtain credit for previously approved experience gained while enrolled in the Intern Development Program (IDP). NCARB record holders will need to re-record the post-graduate IDP experience in the Canadian Experience Record Book (CERB), signed by the previous Supervising Architect(s) at the respective place(s) of employment and OAA Mentor. Proof of enrollment in the IDP (i.e. IDP summary reports) will be required.

Define post-graduate? In Canada, you need your master degree. In the US, you don't. I went to an American school, I did all my hours in NCARB while working in Canada. I'm almost done all my hours for NCARB. But only the hours from post-graduate counts towards OAA? Am I reading this stupid rule correctly? Does it mean only the hours from post-master degree counts? 

Just a note, I did my Master of Architecture in the US. 

https://oaa.on.ca/registration...

Jul 22, 22 12:17 am
Non Sequitur

it’s not a stupid rule but feel free to make up another 7 forum posts asking why. 

Since there are no longer Barch degrees in Canada, IDP only starts during M.arch. This is a concession they did when they reduced the min hours from 5600 to 3800 (or something like that). Prior to this, kids would get all their Coop and high school volunteer hours signed off like it was accurate professional work. 

If you don’t like it, feel free to stick with the American path. 

Jul 22, 22 12:52 am  · 
ArchKid

So the hours during M.Arch counts? Or is it just after you graduate? Or is it just 760 hours during M.Arch counts 

Jul 22, 22 8:39 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur