Archinect
anchor

Client insisting on a bad design

Inside_out

Hi, 

This is my first post so go easy, I'm an experienced architect more than a few grey hairs, but fairly new to working for myself. 

I have a potential client who couldn't initially describe exactly what they wanted, so I undertook some initial draft designs for a small extension. 

Now they have come back insisting on this MS paint layout that they want, It technically works but I think that its a fundamentally bad design - my first proposal gave them everything they wanted but despite my best efforts they clearly while being undemanding and nice people to work with are also set in their views (I think they knew at the start exactly what they wanted but were just unable to show it until I sketch plans) and I will essentially just be drafting and running the project. 

They want a new bathroom with no windows and to brick up old windows which could have been left into this room, mad. Moreover they want remedial works which would involve path repairs to failed finishes etc. which I think are wrong and will fail in a short time. 

Should I take the project, and the money which is helpful but not critical. I can cover myself with letter of the finishes I think will fail. But as a new office I will be spending my time on a project that I will have no pride in, nor that I want to been associate with.

Thoughts.. 

Dec 2, 21 11:29 am
ivanmillya

Sounds like you don't care much for the way the project is heading. Is this your only work right now? If you can cover your finances with other projects and/or you have other work coming in, I'd cut your losses, get paid for the work  you've already completed, and direct them towards a nice draftsperson. Don't waste time on projects you wouldn't want to show to future clients.

Dec 2, 21 11:45 am  · 
1  · 
RJ87