Archinect
anchor

3dsmax and architectural visualisation

KingUwerhi

hi, I want to learn to photorealistic renderings, I'm just fairly new to the 3d game. For a while I've been learning SketchUp, but a friend of mine recommended 3dsmax for it's renderings and animation. I looked it up and it's pretty good, but I've just gotten the hang of things with modeling on Revit and SketchUp, I want to know if it's possible to learn just rendering on 3dsmax, or do I have to go through all the basics from modeling and beyond

Apr 16, 20 4:36 pm
Almosthip

Our office uses revit to render the building and than we do all our post production in Gymp (which is free photoshop)

You really dont need to learn 3dstudiomax

Apr 16, 20 4:46 pm  · 
 · 
Haha Hadude

You can get nice renders out of Revit or Sketchup with the right render program and post production, but it's not worth your time. 3ds will be a much better program for what you're trying to achieve.

Apr 16, 20 5:01 pm  · 
 · 
KingUwerhi

Oh so you're saying its best to work on 3dsmax? What if I wanted to import works from other CADs to render, is it possible to learn just rendering on 3dsmax an create the models elsewhere?

Apr 16, 20 9:20 pm  · 
 · 
Almosthip

I disagree, Its the post production that makes renderings pop. Not the rendering program. You are already creating the building in revit to produce construction documents. Who has the time or the Fees to create it again in 3dstudiomax? My clients would never pay for such a waste of time

Apr 17, 20 11:18 am  · 
 · 
KingUwerhi

Oh wow

Apr 17, 20 11:29 am  · 
 · 
KingUwerhi

Thank you very much for this

· 
Non Sequitur

^you can import your revit model into 3Ds and output renderings pretty easily. We have someone in our office who spends almost all his time doing this type of work.

· 
Almosthip