Archinect
anchor

At Your Firm, Stamping and Signing Drawings

mattakinbimwalker

I am a registered architect and I have been working in an architectural firm since I was 16. I am now 39 and have been out of architecture school since 2003. Depending on how you count my experience, I have between 15 to 21 years experience. I am an associate in my firm and I am a major source of bringing work into the firm. I am also a project manager for my company, which is an AE firm, so I manage all disciplines.

I find it difficult watching other "gray haired" architects stamp and sign my work. I have expressed a strong desire to stamp drawings. Yes I know it brings on much liability. However, I didn't get registered to have someone else be the Architect of Record for my work. I get more and more irritated by the fact that other architects get to stamp my work, when they know little to nothing about my projects.

What I hear is your young and or newly registered. However, I am not your typical newly registered architect. I've been running projects for a long time and I bring in most of the projects I want to stamp from clients I have worked hard to make happy. I perform my own Technical Quality Control Checks and Constructability Reviews with other disciplines.

What are your thoughts? I feel its a power thing for some of the older architects and I don't see the same attitude towards the engineering disciplines in my firm.

Jun 5, 18 1:31 am
Non Sequitur
Why are you working for someone else then? Start your own gig.
Jun 5, 18 6:23 am  · 
2  · 
geezertect

Exactly!

Jun 5, 18 7:38 am  · 
 · 
OneLostArchitect

why would you want th liabilities?

Jun 5, 18 7:31 am  · 
 · 
senjohnblutarsky

I'm thoroughly enjoying not stamping things. Not that I'd have a problem with doing so... I just don't have to. 

Jun 5, 18 7:48 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur