Archinect
anchor

How Much Should I Charge For a Residential Backyard Deck

Tico71t

A bit about myself. I'm a licensed architect and I've spent the great majority of my career working in commercial projects. I've always worked for someone else (production mostly) and don't really have experience figuring out rates and hours. 

Recently I started venturing out to do side work in which I will be the AOR. I have a potential client who needs me to design and submit CDs for an outdoor patio deck. I was wondering if anyone had any tips as to how to figure out my fee and how many hours of design/CD work I should present in my proposal for a small-ish residential project like that.

I just received the client's request through Upwork.com. I can add details as I get them from her (size, "complexity" etc).

Thank you in advance.

Apr 3, 18 4:57 pm
senjohnblutarsky

Cost of insurance for 7 years, plus hourly rate. 

Plus irritation fee for having to submit sealed CDs for a deck.

Apr 3, 18 5:08 pm  · 
1  · 
joseffischer

We (previous residential arch firm) had a lot of deck details required in the city of Atlanta, 6x6 posts with carriage bolts and (forgetting the name now so I'll call them) tiebacks to the joist beyond so that the post isn't just attached to the rim joists.  There's other details too.  They also make us show ALL elevations existing and new even if the deck is just a backyard deck.  Yes, I have to show the facade (front elevation) and then show the exact same facade labeled new with nothing changed.  The longest part of a deck project from permitting perspective is drawing the existing house.  This should take no more than a day if you have a laptop and can draw what you're measuring at the same time.  Don't include any details on siding, windows (beyond rough openings) etc.  We try to keep it as kindergarden as possible... I mean it's not like we're doing anything to the house anyway.