Archinect
anchor

Why do most Engineers make more CA$H than Architects?

StarchitectAlpha

No it's like someone joining the marines and the general says, hmm the market for marines is saturated we're not going to use any air support, why be efficient with our man power?

Dec 4, 15 12:47 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

archiwutm8 - Got it. By a quick online cost of living query, looks like 70k in London goes about as far as 50k in Oregon.

Dec 4, 15 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

It's all business model , my old boss paid his employees more than himself and his business was very successful, it is generating millions every year.

Dec 4, 15 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
StarchitectAlpha

If I could use Revit, and be allowed to hire an ITT drafter I would destroy our deadlines, with that extra time lets figure out what other services we can provide, move consultant work back in house. But I'm a dumb college student and this is how everything has always been done so shut up and sit down and go back to my key noting

Dec 4, 15 1:17 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

Tduds - is that good or bad?

Dec 4, 15 1:30 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

Good for both of us I'd say.

Just remarking that 70k on paper seems like so much, but compared to cost of living, you & I are on about the same page. So I'd say we're both doing alright for ourselves.

If you were making 70k Pounds, that would seem uncommonly high.

Dec 4, 15 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

I hope to get to 70K gbp in two years if everything goes the way I plan.... I'm already earning more than double my architect peers which tbh is pretty sad as I work less hours. Architecture just feels so wrong for people that work so long.

Edit: my partner was earning 72K gbp working in the banking industry at 23.....
Dec 4, 15 1:47 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

Good luck to you in whatever you're doing!