Archinect
anchor

Architecture school while working full-time...possible?

vksince82

Hi

I have a masters in Urban Planning and I'm currently employed as a transportation planner with an interest in sustainable urbanism. I’ve been considering architecture school and doing some online research on schools, prerequisites, skills etc. I also plan on talking to a couple of architects at my company this coming Monday to get some advice. I work for great company that has a policy of paying for its employee’s further education. I feel I have a great opportunity to go back to school and have my company foot the bill.

Now with that in mind, is it possible to attend school part-time while working full-time, or is the course work too demanding? I would definitely appreciate anyone’s opinion and advice.

Thanks

Nov 13, 09 10:29 pm
bRink

what city do you live in?

the boston architectural college has an m.arch program where you can work and complete a degree...

not sure of any other architecture programs that accomodate people working full time... schedules would be difficult, and architecture school culture tends to assume you have no other life...

Nov 13, 09 11:29 pm  · 
 · 
designBandit

You can go to a school that has such a structure in place, like the BAC in Boston or the night program at Drexel. They are tailored for people working part time.

I don't know where you are but I'm sure there's more programs like that in the country.

Nov 13, 09 11:32 pm  · 
 · 
urbanity

Lawrence Tech in MI has an accredited Online Masters of Architecture program.

http://www.ltu.edu/architecture_and_design/marchonline.asp

Nov 14, 09 12:17 am  · 
 · 
trace™

You'll get out what you put in, imho. I can't see how you could function at a job and still excel with design work - there are just too many times you have to struggle, stay up all night or whatever to advance your skills and design.

Outside of design, sure, it is all just regular classes.