Archinect
anchor

Best software to create a simple website

biripbirip

Need to create a website for my upstart office...Can anyone suggest an easy-to-use software? I don't need animations or anything flashy. I had some dabbles in Dreamwaver a long time ago, but apart from that I have no web design experience. Thanks.

Oct 1, 09 6:57 pm
dia

Rationalist had a nice bit of free software you could use... Creates very nce, simple sites.

Oct 1, 09 7:06 pm  · 
 · 
biripbirip

diabase, umhh..pardon the ignorance...but "rationalist"? was dat?

Oct 1, 09 7:54 pm  · 
 · 

das me, of course! I've used Indexhibit for mine, but have lately seen Wordpress used to greater effect. Both are downloadable database systems that let you get by with a bare minimum of coding (yes, Dreamweaver is good for that part) and mostly just type in the text you want and upload images.

Oct 1, 09 8:54 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

We are using Wordpress for our mid level client sites. For super simple sites, we'll jsut use Dreamweaver and some hand coding. For advanced html based sites it'll be all hand coded.

I'd strongly suggest hiring a pro, but if you have no cash you have to do what you have to do.

Oct 1, 09 8:59 pm  · 
 · 
RealLifeLEED

I think basic html is underrated, so I'd recommend notepad and copious use of 'view source'

Oct 2, 09 9:10 am  · 
 · 
biripbirip

das rationalist, thanks a lot. indexhibit looks pretty good...especially since it seems i could start with something relatively simple and then with time add more features, etc.

Oct 2, 09 9:26 am  · 
 · 
rehiggins

i agree with RLL: all you really need is notepad (though Dreamweaver is pretty nice)

Oct 2, 09 7:31 pm  · 
 · 
Mission St.

indexhibit
it is very easy. not terribly flexible but... very easy.

Oct 2, 09 8:55 pm  · 
 · 

i'll third notepad.

Oct 2, 09 9:13 pm  · 
 · 
druf