Archinect
anchor

The importance of work experience pre MArch...

panzanator

I graduated in 2005, took a few years off to travel, explore, just started taking some more fine art classes. I have worked mostly in retail management to pay the bills. I plan on applying to some MArch programs this summer after I take a summer program at UIC. Worried about my lack of experience. My degree was in env. sci, so I gather from common sense and the amount of job aps ive sent out, it would have been difficult for me to get into any architecture/urban design posistion anyhow. I am certain not everyone has impressive internships and job experience when applying for the MArch, BUT many do it seems.

anyone else feeling this?

May 5, 09 5:36 pm
BabbleBeautiful

Where do you gather that many non-arch applications have architecture experience? It's not very common. M.Arch admissions committees strive to get people with a diverse background that can somehow use their background and relate it to what they think is Architecture.

May 6, 09 12:08 am  · 
 · 
scottaway

Arch work experience isn't very important if you're coming from a non-arch undergrad degree. It's nice to have, but far from necessary.

My impression is that admissions committees do want to see evidence that you're serious about architecture - and that you know what you're getting yourself in to - but doing a summer intro-to-architecture program should demonstrate that.

For better or worse, having a portfolio that makes a good impression in 30 seconds of flipping through is more important for admissions than what you've been doing with yourself for the past few years.

May 6, 09 1:02 am  · 
 · 
zoolander

I'm sitting pretty with my MArch, in the spring of my career, the looks of a young Humphrey Bogart, and guess what, still no work.

Forget architecture, get into medicine or law, even better dentistry.

May 6, 09 8:57 am  · 
 · 

Block this user