Archinect
anchor

Employment....Employment

awkeytect

Graduated (5 year undergrad) last May.
Had been officially 'searching' for a few months and applied at about 6 offices. Heard back from 3 of the 6 and was offered a job at two.

Deliberated for a few days and accepted an offer at what I hope will be a great office. Looking forward to the change of pace.

Its not all doom and gloom after all.

Dec 18, 10 8:56 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory

Wow awkeytect, that is some pretty good statistics. Where are you located that has that many offices hiring?

Meanwhile I graduated M.Arch Sept 2008, worked Jan-Jul 09 and have been out of work since. Over the course of this year I have easily sent over 200 applications and probably have gotten responses (most of them no) from about 30. I've had 5 or 6 phone interviews and traveled for 3 (not related to the phone interview), 2 of which were a complete waste of my time, 1 that wanted to hire but decided post-interview that didn't have the work to justify. I've had one local interview, about 2 months ago, that they are still "deciding" on, but I think they lost funding for the position (it was government) and they just don't want to own up to it. If nothing works out in the next few months, I'm seriously considering going back to school, even though my student loan debt already is tremendous, and either getting a degree in Engineering or becoming a Pharmacy Tech.

Dec 18, 10 9:16 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

damn, awkey. how did you pull that off?

after getting the negatory from the one firm i really wanted to work for, 2 potentials w/ interviews coming up in the next few weeks.

and i can always do my own thing if the mrs. gets a better paying job than i could. hoo-ah. sugar mama.

i've heard from multiple sources switzerland and germany are hiring left and right these days.

Dec 18, 10 9:47 pm  · 
 · 

Great story, Apu!

Dec 18, 10 10:57 pm  · 
 · 
awkeytect

Im located in the midwest but have 0 ties and relocation was a non-issue.