Archinect
anchor

making furniture

idiotwind

hey everyone, i just moved again and need some furniture. i want to make it. does anyone know how to make some sweet, cheap, crazy modern bar stools? or, do you know of any websites related to making furn. i've made drafting tables before, but thats all. oh and a table. and shelves. but no chairs yet. i also wanna make a sweet table and chairs. please help. i am a poor student, so i am making them (needs to be cheap if possible). i also want it to be very minimal

Feb 27, 09 6:18 pm
citizen4nr

whats your budget and what is your access to tools?

Feb 27, 09 6:29 pm  · 
 · 
idiotwind

i have a circular saw and electric hand drill, but i can use many tools at the architecture shop any time. my budget is a couple hundred. i have all black red and white furniture everywhere else. i'm thinking some sort of wood, stained black, or maybe raw materials.

Feb 27, 09 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
JWassell

id probably suggest grabbin some chipboard and doin some scaled models, base it off half inch or 3/4 inch plywood. think of doing it as scores/folds in the chipboard and translating it over with some dovetails of something (time/skill pending)

another strategy would be to break it down into parts and adapt from there. i.e. bar stool = 4 legs + brace + seat, then develop from there (still prolly use plywood, pretty good bang for the buck, either get a cheaper one and stain or paint it, or some cabinet grade and leave them bare or clear coat

Feb 27, 09 7:09 pm  · 
 · 
idiotwind

is there an easy way to curve the wood?

Feb 27, 09 7:21 pm  · 
 · 
passerby1ce

Curve wood for what purpose? a stool? a table? There's wiggle wood that can bend. That's what I used when I made a coffee table that had circular holes in the middle.