Archinect
anchor

Aluminum Composite Panel

farwest1

I'm looking for a good aluminum composite panel system for a project we're doing. But there are so many out there that I don't know where to start: Alucobond, Alcoa, Alpolic.

Anyone have experience with these? Any idea about which is the best/cleanest/nicest-looking system?

Jan 30, 09 3:14 pm
sharkswithlasers

I'm right there with you farwest...and giving you a BUMP. I have some experience with Alucobond. It's a decent product.

What kind of price level are you looking for? Some of these get a little nutty PSF. Also, a lot of them don't maintain there look for very long.

Jan 30, 09 8:06 pm  · 
 · 
snook_dude

I have a coffee coaster...of Alpolic.... It is holding up!....The project on the other hand has gone south.

Jan 30, 09 8:09 pm  · 
 · 
snook_dude

If "made" shows up here and says it has insulating qualities...well sorry Dude....go get a White Russian.

Jan 30, 09 8:10 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

alucobond? yech.

Jan 31, 09 2:28 am  · 
 · 
farwest1

holz, what's a good system then?

Jan 31, 09 11:57 am  · 
 · 
snook_dude

My Aluco bond coffee coaster is holding up real well. It has the Chevrolet Blue Finish.

Jan 31, 09 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
sharkswithlasers

Yes, holz -- let us in in on the ultimate skinny... great systems, you've actually used.

Jan 31, 09 4:12 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

northclad on one project, but it's not any better, might be cheaper.

but there are a few projects in seattle and outlying areas that utilize alucobond and it makes me gag.

Jan 31, 09 6:10 pm  · 
 · 
farwest1

I don't think an aluminum composite panel is the ultimate material, but it seemed to suit the job we're doing. Any suggestions for alternatives that are maybe not a composite panel?

What was used here, for instance? Any details?: