Archinect
anchor

Why won't you design what we (the public) want?

aojwny

Re threadkilla's photos, a) looks like mid-20th century Scandinavia to me, pre or post war I don't know (could be elsewhere at another time, I'm no expert on that period).  It seems like it would be a respectful neighbor in any urban context. Like.

b), some Russian (or other country with the cyrillic alphabet) atrocity.  Don't even know if the historic element is real or not. Dislike.

c) looks like a traditional Japanese house, not my preference, but interesting for its influence on Wright and other early 20th century architects. OK.

d) The oval shape makes me think this is not a traditional Asian building, although it seems influenced by same. OK.

e) Appears to be another traditional Asian building, can't tell if it is a house or not, or japanese or Chinese (or maybe Korean). I like all the exposed natural wood and the carpentry details.  An influence on Greene and Greene.

Plans:

a) traditional Japanese house. Interesting. Like.

b) Looks like a Wright plan.  Like.

c) I admit I searched the internet for this. A plan by an over-the-top traditionalist, John Henry. Dislike.  To me he is the sort of designer who gives traditional architecture a bad name.

d/ looks like regency period in england or Federal period in the US.  I don't recognize it, and I would want to make some serious tweeks to the plan, but I can imagine that the spaces are quite sublime. Like.

Nov 13, 13 5:13 pm  · 
 · 

We live in 3 dimensions threadkilla, lets see the elevations.  No one chooses a house from a floor plan.

Elevations are two-dimensional. Which exceeds by one the number of dimensions that suri's argument has.

Nov 13, 13 5:19 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

i kind of thought the oval shape in (d) was largely due to lens distortion/fish-eye

Nov 13, 13 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
observant

I want to live in a flat in a tromp l'oeil building overlooking the Ligurian coast.