Archinect
anchor

how wierd architecture profession is...

useasbacku

just came back from an interview at a small office and shockingly found out that it is required in the office to work 50 hrs per week, and the pay is low.

I'm just wonder is there any other profession as weird and depressing as architecture profession for young grads?not mentioning unpaid overtime, no one listening to you, etc...

sorry I'm so negative...

Sep 9, 08 2:10 pm
farwest1

no. There is no profession as weird and depressing. Except maybe working at a hog farm.

Sep 9, 08 2:19 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

I would go so far as to say 60-70% of all architects are mildly retarded and have no taste. They do however have deep rooted self image issues which they try to fix by identifying themselves with a style or brand of architecture. Your only hope is to become a principle and toy with their pathetic lives.

Sep 9, 08 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
farwest1

However, I worked in the film industry before architecture, and routinely put in 60-70 hours a week. The pay at the time was low, but the POTENTIAL pay seemed much better.

Lawyer friends of mine put in absurd hours(with good pay) Resident doctors put in absurd hours, capped federally at 80 hours a week (with bad pay, typically in the $40's) Other professions expect weird hours too, and not always for good pay. It's not only architects.

Sep 9, 08 3:11 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

actually that job at the chicken finger processing plant was rather depressing. but they did pay overtime and you got to take home as many chicken livers as you wanted.

Sep 9, 08 3:17 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

that gig at the plastic injecting molding factory was not very intellectually challenging when you are sitting at the plastic cap making machine, counting out 100 of them at a time and putting them in a plastic bag...but they did pay overtime and you got an extra .15 an hour on the graveyard shift.

Sep 9, 08 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

positive platypus and puppet master!