Archinect
anchor

Green Thread Central

AP

awesome dubK. great idea...and off to a good start.

i hope to learn from and contribute to GTC in the future.

Apr 25, 07 2:48 pm  · 
 · 
rutger

some bicycle architecture:
the new bicycle parking in front of the central station in Groningen
architect KCAP

Apr 25, 07 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
WonderK

Paul, I am coming to LA for grad school. So if you can wait a couple of months, I will definitely help out with any bike tour efforts!

I tried to keep up with the bike thread but I have to admit, I'm an amateur, and the talk about "fixies" and what not was a bit over my head. Now that it's nice out again I'm going to go bike shopping this weekend and I'm looking for something along the lines of a road/city bike. I like those hybrids too but they might be a bit much for me.

Also I am still serious about the Archinect Scooter Gang! I am going to see how far I can get into scooter culture and then see if I can't get some magical mechanic to trick out my scooter, biodiesel style or something. Yes I know that scooters come with gas, not diesel enginges. Baby steps.

Apr 25, 07 2:58 pm  · 
 · 
WonderK

Ha ha, "enginges". Maybe they even come with engines. Anyway.

Apr 25, 07 3:00 pm  · 
 · 

did you ever check out the two-stroke vs. four-stroke issues?

Apr 25, 07 3:05 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

I ran my footprint as if I was living back in LA in same size house/commmute. my footprint dropped from 19 to 16 just by changing locations... ok, minnesota is butt cold in the wintertime, but CA has several power plants dedicated to just pumping water. Is life that much lower in impact in Cali???

maybe since all the food is grown locally, that saves lots of footprint acres.

Apr 25, 07 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
rutger

for people looking for a bicycle: fietsfabriek
they also make the traditional Dutch OMA bicycle

Apr 25, 07 3:09 pm  · 
 ·