Archinect
anchor

2008 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

asbuckeye07

oooh i see. well congratz on your acceptance!

Feb 27, 08 2:57 pm  · 
 · 
franciscoalarcon

Just got an email from Pratt. They want my transcripts from Spain evaluated by WES. You know how it works?

And they requested me the TOEFL score that I sent a week ago....

What The Fuck!

Feb 27, 08 2:58 pm  · 
 · 
franciscoalarcon

CONGRATS LAURIAN

Feb 27, 08 2:59 pm  · 
 · 
A V

All of you who are not from an architecture background - what IS your background?? What did you put in your portfolio?

Feb 27, 08 3:00 pm  · 
 · 
ripomatic

asbuckeye07, thanks man. I don't mean to seem standoffish, but I'm really reluctant to post my stuff, at least until I hear from all of my schools.

AV.
I have a BA in Psych from Tufts ('04). My work experience in college was pretty finance oriented. After graduating I was a producer at an Ad agency.

My portfolio was about 50% photography, 25% fine arts (I've had some training, and I've always been a painter) and 25% small conceptual projects.

Feb 27, 08 3:06 pm  · 
 · 
asbuckeye07

completely understandable...I posted mine awhile back, and was immediately like "shit, was that bad". But it doesnt really bother me, I mean 95% of architecture is about copying anyways

Feb 27, 08 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
smithwillb

in undergrad i did Journalism, Piano, Dramatic Writing.

My portfolio was tabbed in two parts.

Part 1 was a full-length play
Part 2 was poster design and GSAPP summer stuff.

Feb 27, 08 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
ff33º

asbuck, maybe schools pick the best non-archs out of the batch first...

lemme guess all you non - archs that already got phone calls, ....got like 800 on you GREs, right?

Feb 27, 08 3:13 pm  · 
 · 
ripomatic

that's for damn sure. look at Philip Johnson, the biggest thief and most audacious hack in history.

Feb 27, 08 3:14 pm  · 
 · 
ff33º

<i bet you got plenty of sleep all throughout your undergrad too>

Feb 27, 08 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
asbuckeye07