Archinect
anchor

Jobsite Pic of The Day

Ms Beary

yeh, against code. and in an old folks home, so even worse.

Feb 27, 07 4:43 pm  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

Oh. I'm kinda new to the real side of architecture, just graduating in 06, so I'm not up on codes. Figured 5" risers would be ok. The hand rail I get. Stupid codes. Guess someone's got to watchout for those "old folks" though.

Feb 27, 07 5:09 pm  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

I just checked IBC, and actually 4" is the minimum riser height - so that part is OK. But the stair would not meet dimensional uniformity (the tread depths vary), nor would it meet "landing" criteria if you tried to call it a landing.

you KNOW the contractor is going to try to propose to just fill in that missing part. which would be up to code, but the stair would have a big dorky joint thru it. Not sure if there is a floor finish on that stair or it's just concrete.

Feb 27, 07 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
kyll

i'll be keeping this thread open since i'm now at the site 98% of the time.. see? -->

Feb 27, 07 8:14 pm  · 
 · 
some person

"Bring in the jackhammers" (I have a feeling I will have said that at least once before my project is finished). Thanks for sharing the stair photograph, Strawbeary.

Now the real question is: Was the edge of the stair chamfered like the side of the detail bubble?

I'm in disbelieve, also. Did your co-worker review the shop drawings for this area? Was the detail bubble on the architectural drawings or the shop drawings? (The situtation would be infinitely worse if the detail bubble was on the shop drawings...)

Feb 27, 07 8:19 pm  · 
 · 
AP

20FEB2007

Feb 27, 07 9:04 pm  · 
 · 
some person

Two worlds collide...

Today I received the stair tread photo via email from two separate sources at work. Strawbeary: how close was your original source? Did it come from your firm?