Archinect
anchor

my first commission

i have just received my first independant commission to design a single family house in palm springs. the only request the client has is to keep it within the ealry modernist tradition a la nuetra's kaufman house. my excitement is offset by the sudden realization that i am a complete amateur (3 years out of getting my bachelor's degree).

any tips for getting past the apprehension? any experiences you care to share?

May 5, 06 11:45 pm
ochona

congratulations. my tips: just throw yourself into the work and get to that first design meeting. blow their minds. try to find a structural engineer who's young like you. find someone who will check your drawings for a small bit of cash. and have lots of fun. maybe make a profit.

i wish my first independent commission had been that cool, but i certainly did feel that apprehension. do NOT let it turn into self-sabotaging procrastination.

this is an incredible opportunity for you. good luck tends to happen to those who don't need it.

May 5, 06 11:56 pm  · 
 · 
silverlake

congrats - i was in a similar situation a when i started a couple of years ago.

no matter what act like you've been doing it for years, and you'll get the hang of it pretty quick

get a good set of working drawings for reference

May 7, 06 12:54 am  · 
 · 
Mum

Good for you!

The most important thing you can do for yourself and your client is to learn what the building code requires. I believe Palm Springs uses the California Building Code. Contact the building department for that jurisdiction and ask them which code and code year they use for single family houses. Purchase this code. It will be worth the money. You can purchase the code at www.iccsafe.org or sometimes through the building department.

http://www.iccsafe.org/e/category.html