Archinect
anchor

You know what? Screw Firms

cmdace18

I have a job, I'm all set. I have a full time job starting soon, I'll have my M.Arch

Here is my rant.

Maybe I'm a rookie to the architecture business. Maybe I don't know it all. But I do know how to run a fucking business. I interview with a firm (name withheld) and they tell me i'm exactly what they are looking for. I contact them a few weeks later, tell me they tell me they'll contact me in a few weeks. almost a month and half goes buy and i get a generic email from the person i interviewed with about two positions for a SUMMER INTERN. Are you kidding me? One is paid, one is not paid. That has got to be the biggest joke ever. You know, not for nothing, but i know how to run a business. You tell them how it is. What if I was holding out for a job in their location? Personally, it feels like a punch in the gut. I would never, as someone who interviews, or the owner, lead on a candidate, ever. I hold too much pride and respect for the time and effort a candidate does to travel to my office and put together a presentation for me. Screw them. They don't need me, and I don't need them.

Mar 28, 06 1:39 pm
charlize

WOW.....
cmdace18 sorry to hear, I'm with you on that.

Mar 28, 06 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
babs
cmdace18

: understand your pain – not every firm is like that – but, you know what, i've been doing this for a while now and, for every story like yours, i'm convinced there's an equal number of stories about candidates who waste a firm's time and screw around with them.

just last week, we offered to bring an out-of-town candidate to our city for an interview. we'd been working with her for nearly 4-weeks – had a couple of very good phone interviews – we went to a lot of trouble to download and print some very large images that the candidate sent for our review – several of us spent a lot of time with her on the phone explaining our firm and how we work and what we're looking to do