Archinect
anchor

Salaries...

i've checked out the salary poll...however was still looking for some info on what is a reasonable salary to ask for new york city. I understand it is a relative topic depending on firm/experience.....but i would like to see what others are getting or at least what they are asking....(chicago, boston, and west coast are welcome to join discussion as well)

I have roughly 5-6 years of experience, 2 master's degrees (architecture), and fairly competent in all softwares (3-d modeling, parametric modeling, AutoCAD, Adobe Packages).....

thanks for your time....

Mar 23, 06 1:58 pm
quizzical

The latest AIA Compensation Survey (2005) would include you in this category:

Architect/designer II: Licensed architect or nonregistered graduate with 6–8 years of experience; responsible for daily design or technical development of project.

For the City of New York, the AIA survey for Architect/Designer II shows median compensation to be $52,900 and mean compensation to be $55,400.

For the New York City Metro Area, the AIA survey for Architect/Designer II shows median compensation to be $52,900 and mean compensation to be $55,300.

These numbers are base pay only and do not include any bonuses, overtime pay, or benefits.

Mar 23, 06 3:22 pm  · 
 · 
RankStranger

Quizzical, does that AIA Survey list a low/high number? If so could you list it (for that particular group)? Thanks.

Mar 23, 06 5:52 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

sure:

City of New York: $51,800 - $58,000
NYC Metro Area: $51,800 - $58,000

These are the full range, from the lowest quartile to the upper quartile.

The lower quartile marks where 25% of the reported values are lower than the figure given and 75% are higher. The upper quartile marks where 75% of the reported values are lower than the figure given and 25% are higher.

Mar 23, 06 6:08 pm  · 
 · 

depressing...

Mar 23, 06 8:15 pm  · 
 · 
bdonn