Archinect
anchor

Thread Central

I don't stop by often, but when I do, I try to make it count.

Who will young female architects look up to now that we've lost Zaha?

Think about it; in no other major profession is the list of dignitaries and award-winners so dominated by men as it is in architecture.  She's the only sole female Pritzker Prize winner.  There wasn't a female AIA Gold Medal winner until 2014, when Julia Morgan won it posthumously.  Women in medicine, science, engineering, law and other esteemed professions have won awards and are lauded for their work.  We can't even say to women "please come join us, look at the impact all of these women have had..." we couldn't even say that about Zaha without having someone argue that her designs were crap or unbuildable.

I'm a licensed female architect and I don't even really identify as one unless prodded.  The building science community is as male-dominated as its older sibling architecture, but I've never had a fellow building scientist tell me that what I'm bringing to the table is crap.

I loved her designs and her ideas and I don't know what to say about this profession now that she's gone, and it's 2016, and I have no idea why it's still so hard for women.  I just don't get it.

Mar 31, 16 3:46 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Jeanne Gang

Billie Tsien

Elizabeth Diller

Nanako Umemoto

DSB

... were only the first four that I thought of. 

But I agree, she was a figurehead for women in architecture, as much as she despised that role.

Mar 31, 16 4:14 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

tbh even non architects knew of Zaha unlike the others.

Mar 31, 16 4:54 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Arch, my office's senior int-des did not know of her. 

Mar 31, 16 5:02 pm  · 
 · 

First thing, congrats to David Cole's new job.