Archinect
anchor

Thread Central

****melt

Sounds pun phil.  Where did you kayak?

Jun 28, 11 1:05 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

time for siesta! ok, no maybe it is a little early, but who cares?

Jun 28, 11 1:16 pm  · 
 · 

melt, my in-laws have a mountain house in western north carolina about 30 minutes west of bryson city... we went down the nantahala river...

Jun 28, 11 2:16 pm  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

Still painting.  How is everyone else?  Busy it seems.

Jun 29, 11 11:35 am  · 
 · 

took the evening off to have pizza with a bunch of veteran architects in tokyo.  drank too much and ate too much, but is sooo nice to have a break.

if any of you remain interested in japan disaster, one of my partners recently wrote a two part article on where we might go from here.  Its pretty good.  and i would say that even if we hadn't been friends for 10 years.

Jun 29, 11 11:57 am  · 
 · 

it's official, got the letter this morning !!!!!! I'm now an Assistant Professor at Cal Poly Pomona. Can't wait to collaborate with Orhan!

Jun 30, 11 11:33 am  · 
 · 
postal

manta, are you physically fabricating this thing?  why don't you post some pics and have TC have at it!

in the past, i've learned that no one will critique the elements that you are nervous about, code stuff, structural stuff (unless its an engineer looking at calcs), even complex "will they really build this thing" details sometimes as well.  And I'm always left with more questions than I have answers.  Which is good at certain stages of the project.

In the end, you have to satisfy your own demons.  Do the research that you need to do to allow yourself to sleep at night.  And then execute.  I get nervous, I get anxious.  I feel like I'll unroll a set of drawings one day and everyone will laugh.  And to a certain extent, it keeps me on my toes.  Makes me go the extra mile to satisfy myself.  You will always be your toughest critic.