Archinect
anchor

Help! Where Should I Co-op?

OK, so I'm an M Arch student at Cincinnati, and this is my first co-op quarter (beginning mid March) of 4 (the final two are consecutive). According to my advisor, it's wise to go after a big well-known name for the first one. I don't want to work for any tool-houses like VOA, so I've done my best and come up with these top six, in no order:

KPF
ZGF
SOM
Gensler
Studios Arch
Goettsch Partners

Also considering:
Chan Krieger
DPZ (I can't help it, but I have a thing for new urbanism--please leave that for another discussion...)

I would love to get any firm suggestions, and any alternative strategies to the big name thing. I have to get paid this time, so badass firms are out. Hopefully I'll be in a good enough financial position by the last one to try a star.

Jan 17, 06 9:50 pm
monkeyboy

those are definately big...never heard of Goettsch or DPZ.. whos your advisor... vasso?

i would say pick a firm that shares your interests.. even if its outside the co-op network. Isnt the point of the Masters co-op is that they are directed to your specific interests or chosen masters "path"?
If you like new urbanism, ouch, then go to a firm that does new urbanism. If style is not what you care about during a co-op and CD experience andmodel making are than maybe a one of those corporate firms are what you want.

Trust me while i thougt the co-op advisors were nice people they didnt necessarily have the interests of the students in mind. Most of the time they just want to fill the positions in those firms in the network so they keep them in the network.

Jan 17, 06 10:26 pm  · 
 · 

i've got bruce...he seems to consider 4+ M Archers more or less undergrads

DPZ (Duaney Plater-Zyberk?) is a urban design firm, maninly designing through new urbanism...but that's just a consideration, not at all on the top of the pile