Archinect
anchor

Architecture + Graphic Design?

J_AFlores

I am currently a senior student of a BS in Architecture. I have applied to many firms but nothing. One day an artist hired me as a freelancer to work in his portfolios and also in his post cards (due that I got exposed to CS5). Now I decided that I will take a year off to gain some experience through an internship if I find one. But if I don't find anything I think I will stick in School for another year and get a Concentration or Minor in Graphic Design, while in the mean time study for the GRE and make my portfolio to apply to Grad schools to get my M.arch.

I am just a bit not sure if I should do this and I would like to know if this can be a good path (BS architecture + Graphic design concentration) that can offer me a better position before, during and after I get my M.arch. 

I will like to get some feedback thanks!

Sep 9, 11 2:34 pm
m...

If you're going to be doing graphic design, I would focus on web design. It's where the $$$ is. 

If you're into print, for the love of god look at www.septemberindustry.co.uk for inspiration. Some of the graphic design I've seen on graduate portfolios posted here has been really contrived and overtly complicated. 

Sep 9, 11 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
J_AFlores

Thanks for the link. They have awesome work.

Sep 9, 11 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
shawnswisher

I'm actually doing almost the same exact thing as you are considering. I graduated in 2010 with my B.Arch (no graphic design minor though), and decided to come home to AZ after being five years away – to spend time with family and friends, etc. I had such a rough time finding anyone with open positions (including construction), I decided to give graphic design a shot since it was something I had some experience and a lot of interest in.