Archinect
anchor

Unemployed? Architect graduates don't have to be Architects

my fault.

I was once unemployed, until an ex-architect  reached out and made me realized that with an education in architecture there were plenty of other fields/industries to pursue. Many provide better live/work standards.

if you're someone like me. list up what you do and help those who are struggling to find themselves in a post-architecture school world. In today's economy everyone should kiss goodbye the days of working on competitions that glorify architects/ instructors' own agendas for low/no pay.

I'm in UX.

Aug 25, 11 4:14 pm
lionshcra

Could you elaborate? I'm a recent grad (B.S. Arch program) pre-professional degree. What alternatives do I have? Video game environment designer? Anything related to engineering (GE is hiring around where I live).

Aug 25, 11 4:21 pm  · 
 · 
calculator

I think a lot of people don't want to start out working in a field other than architecture, because it's often hard to jump back in.

Lets say you start off getting a job with some other type of design.  five years later (hopefully) the economy has improved and you want to do architecture.  Now your resume has no architecture experience.

I've heard of this situation happening to people who are in other fields as well - graduate with a computer science degree, but work in something else, and then its impossible to find a computer science job because you don't have the experience for it.

It's tough times, though, and people have to eat. 

Aug 25, 11 5:27 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Just out of school I waited tables in some very swanky restaurants, making more money in 25 hours/week than I would earn full-time in architecture for another few years.