Archinect
anchor

applying for a firm for the first time!

Theart

I am a thesis student, and I am planning to find my first job in an architecture firm. My plan is to personally walk in to architecture firms with my resume and portfolio, and hopefully they will talk to me and offer a job.I would really appreciate any advise that you guys would give me on what should I expect, What should I expect of them, things to say and what not! I would really appreciate it. Thanks

Aug 19, 11 11:18 pm
Rusty!

Get a tetnus shot before doing this.

Aug 20, 11 12:29 am  · 
 · 

Expect disappointment. Especially with that approach.

Aug 20, 11 12:38 am  · 
 · 
remus + romulus

I'm actually curious to see what some people will say.  I found my first work experience after graduation with this approach.  My subsequent positions were always networked.  But the first time around, I had my portfolio and resume in hand, and approached the firms that I was interested in.  Perhaps I just got lucky.  It was a better economy back then.

Aug 20, 11 1:21 am  · 
 · 
IamGray

Depends on a lot of things. Mainly: Where you are, which firm you're applying to, and who you are.

I know someone who landed a job at OMA Rotterdam using the approach you mentioned. So it's not impossible. Just be prepared as others have already noted, that it could prove difficult in the current economic climate.

Best of luck.

Aug 20, 11 6:33 am  · 
 · 
file

Some firms will find your planned approach to be presumptuous - like you expect them to just drop what they're doing so they can meet with you. To some, 'drop-ins' feel a lot like those awful telemarketing calls that occur at dinner time. You might get lucky, but just be prepared for a lot of disappointment and a certain amount of hostility.

Aug 20, 11 7:18 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit