Archinect
anchor

Non-flash architects' websites

signal

What well designed XHTML-based architects' websites would you recommend? Most architects' sites (including those linked in a previous discussion here) seem to be done in flash and have terrible navigation.
I am about to design a new website for our firm, and would like to have some cool / interesting examples of standards compliant / XHTML-based / minimalistic designs. No flash, please.

Mar 10, 05 5:54 pm
siggers

I can't think of any I'm afraid, other than my own, and it's poorly designed (I think I did the front page in word at one point) and it's got little of anything to do with architecture, though I am a student of architecture...

http://andri.haflidason.com/ - photography

Mar 10, 05 6:08 pm  · 
 · 
siggers

oh but I like what you're saying, flash really is annoying sometimes, it also never feels like you're browsing something 'solid', or the links are tiny, or keep FLYING AROUND the bloody screen lol

good luck!

Mar 10, 05 6:09 pm  · 
 · 
Margine

You can insert flash movies in your html website so it is easy to navigate, yet still have the coolness of flash:
http://www.hok.com

(some peple do like flash, me included)

Mar 10, 05 6:13 pm  · 
 · 
e
here

is an html site i did for a firm a few years ago

Mar 10, 05 6:19 pm  · 
 · 
piquepeter

Our website is html: http://www.piquearchitecture.com/

By using animated gif’s we were able to make the website feel a little more interactive.
We are currently setting up another site in flash though…and you are right, having a clear navigation system is key and a bit more challenging in Flash because it isn’t built with the linear process inherent in HTML.

Just a couple others to look at though:

http://www.degrezero.com/dz20/IE_NS6.html

good java script stuff

http://www.paulderuiter.nl/
mostly html with a few small flash inserts

http://www.ten-arquitectos.com/

http://www.unstudio.com/

Mar 10, 05 7:54 pm  · 
 · 
e